A Talk with Threes App Designer Greg Wohlwend (New Disruptors 74)

[Permalink]

I think itā€™s somewhat harsh to refer to 2048 as a parasite. As a developer myself, the beauty of 2048 for me is in the technology, the fact that itā€™s HTML and Javascript and works so wonderfully when simply saved to the desktop from Safari. The developer also credits Threes for inspiration right on the main page of the game.

Agreed. The dev of 2048 didnā€™t know about Threes when he created it. He was taking inspiration from another game, 1024 which itself was inspired by Threes. None of them are clones of Threes though. Rather they are variations.

Iā€™m sure different people have different ideas of how much stuff has to change to be a clone. Is Mario a clone of Pacland? Is Sonic a clone of Mario?

Another issue is as much sympathy I have for the Threes developers having spent 14 months designing and making Threes, the ended up with a game thatā€™s super easy to clone. I donā€™t know how to feel about that. A game like Monument Valley is not easily cloned whereas Threes is. Just like Flappy Bird was easy to clone and hence you saw tons of clones. I have no idea what Iā€™m trying to say other there. I just think thereā€™s something to that.

A competitor looking at the result of much time, money and effort invested and knocking out a cheaper version (since most of the expensive work is already done) that cuts into the sales of the original is a very old problem. Itā€™s a great incentive to never again bothering to innovate. Copyright was invented because of that but itā€™s not going to help in this case.

Thereā€™s added complications, of course:

The fact that these knockoffs are free (thus potentially MUCH more popular than the originals), and the copycats donā€™t get money from it.

The whole ā€˜piracy is not actually theft and could even improve your productā€™s visibility and salesā€™ argument.