After health expert in China said new coronavirus was "under control," he himself became infected

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/01/22/after-health-expert-in-china-s.html

3 Likes

I don’t like the sound of this. Does it cause a rash?

2 Likes

Plus the first case has arrived in the USA, from China, yesterday.

1 Like

Well, after all his job is to evaluate the new coronavirus, so…

7 Likes

he himself became infected

I have spoken.

3 Likes

The numbers in this article are out of date – I think it’s now up to 17 dead and over 500 infected globally.

It does look like the vast majority of people infected are not dying, and presumably will recover? I am not a health professional! Would love more deets from any doctors here on how this virus compares to, say, seasonal influenza outbreaks, particularly nasty things like SARS and MERS, etc.

4 Likes

personally I want to see this guy as spokes person for every cause I’m against.

They’ve now cut off all transportation out of, and shut down public transportation within Wuhan. A city of 11 million people. But yeah, sure, there are only 500 confirmed cases of infection.

2 Likes

I found this article in The New York Times to be interesting and informative:

Reading the new Gibson now, it’s hard not to think “Jackpot” when these types of outbreaks pop up… :slightly_frowning_face:

2 Likes

Its hard to say which tendency is dominating here - the authoritarian tendency to cover up bad news or the authoritarian tendency to overreact without consideration for convenience of citizens

1 Like