All six Myst games will soon be available on Windows 10 for the first time

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/04/12/all-six-myst-games-will-soon-b.html

4 Likes

And for those of us who dislike the direction Windows has taken the past several years and are still running Windows 7?

6 Likes

But does it run on Wine?

4 Likes

Was the first computer game my son and I played together, he is now a Game Designer. Who’d a thunk?

8 Likes

I’m sorry, but Myst was meant to be played on a mid-90’s, post-Jobs Macintosh.

12 Likes

I did. Well, the original one at least, not those cheapass sequels.

There’s a project afoot (with the official backing of Cyan) to remake Riven in the style of realMyst, but it looks a lot like one of those things that will putter around forever without ever quite dying.

3 Likes

I, for one, am a little excited because I was a broke college student 25 years ago and never had the chance to play the game. Come to think of it, I was broke when Bioshock came out.

3 Likes

Playing Riven was a better experience for me than playing Myst, for whatever reason. I don’t think I’ve played any of the others.

5 Likes

You can get all of them on Good Old Games except for 3 and 4- for some reason, they couldn’t get the rights for those two. I already had three (which actually runs fine off the CD on Windows 7), but have still never played the fourth one.

Hell - I still haven’t finished playing Manhole.

1 Like

puts on his fandom hat
This is my time… :wink: