An "international eye chart" from 1907

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2017/12/24/an-international-eye-chart.html

8 Likes

Why is there Roman letters in both a standard block font, and black letter? Is that for Hispanic gangsters? Did they have those back then? Or is that more for Germans?

I just went to the source to see whether it would have more information, and it doesn’t, but it is a wonderful book that I have saved for future enjoyment. I highly recommend it, it would be a great Holiday present in printed form.

The question that I wanted answered was whether the chart came with a booklet with the phonetic pronunciation of all those letters in their original language[s], and also of the figures in the central panel in every possible language. Otherwise, it would not always be that useful.

3 Likes

Fraktur, I imagine.

3 Likes

That thing is beautiful. I want it. Someone, sell posters of it. I’m no eye doctor, but it’d be an awesome thing to show my class when we talk about polyglot communities.

5 Likes

I would suspect so. There were a lot of them.

4 Likes

Hebrew would not have been a widely-spoken language in 1907. The Hebrew characters were most likely meant for immigrant Jews from Europe who spoke and read Yiddish. Yiddish is very close to German, but is written using Hebrew letters.

11 Likes

Here you go!

https://www.clavininc.com/listing/400910089/antique-print-of-a-german-eye-exam-chart

4 Likes

I was wondering about this myself given the Hebrew Revival was still in it’s early stages around this time. Your explanation makes a lot of sense.

2 Likes

I’ve seen Yiddish described as “German spoken by people with a sense of humor.”

7 Likes

Today I learned something new.

Thanks, and welcome to BoingBoing!

4 Likes

The center column is clearly the international column, with pictographs of cat, dog, and American flag.