Art critic says her dislike of $20,000 artwork caused it to shatter

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/02/10/art-critic-says-her-dislike-of.html

2 Likes

Hmm… And how does she feel about Donald Trump?

20 Likes

Seems like the critic owes the artist $20k. I’m not an expert in telling everyone what I think of the work of others, but even I know not to approach artwork and set my trash near it.

11 Likes

Yup, “You break it, you bought it.”

7 Likes

I don’t know about that. This critic has literally no other outlet for expressing her opinion of the art in a way that can be communicated to the public. Putting garbage on it was her only option!

5 Likes

Was it ON it, or NEXT TO IT? If she did not physically touch the piece, i dont see how she could be faulted here.

6 Likes

It sounds like she set the can on the glass case covering the art, shattering the case and destroying the art underneath it in the process.

1 Like

Next to it, allegedly.

I don’t think it was in a case. This is a picture of the piece from the twitter thread:

2 Likes

Ouch, that seems like it is more complicated then. Technically she did not touch the art itself, and there may be some expectation that the glass case covering it would be a little more resiliant. Seems like the person in charge of the case might bear some responsibility.

3 Likes

Huh, maybe she set the cold can on the ground against the sheet of glass and the temperature differential caused it to shatter? Odd.

3 Likes

That picture certainly makes it look like it would have been the artwork itself.

1 Like

This has me throughly confused too: she says “near”, they say “on” and I can see how glass with objects enmeshed in it would be fragile and you have to be a tremendous asshole to put an object on it without knowing if it’s safe.

If it’s “near”, then the fault is on the artist that miscalculated the medium that he works with and didn’t take the glass limits into consideration.