Artificially-intelligent song maships

Originally published at: Artificially-intelligent song maships | Boing Boing

Maships?

Is that one of those silly Tik Tok challenges?

6 Likes

Not sure if site working. Maybe doesn’t work with Firefox? If I click the ‘mashup’ button or hit enter, the entry line just clears. What’s working for you guys?
Trying to get these two gems to play together:

Okay, well this sounds pretty good, though it said the Original version of MVP - Make Me Feel was too long and I had to use a fairly different-sounding “trip-hop” remix of it.

1 Like

I can safely say that the mash-up produced by melding Anywhere But Here by KD Lang, and Cotton Eye Joe by some weird bunch of people with questionable dental hygiene, is not good, not good at all. And it shows no signs of intelligence, artificial or otherwise, on either the app’s part or mine.

1 Like

I’ve been playing around with this for a couple years. Here’s some of my mashups…

1 Like

Re: Seven Nation Army and Sweet Dreams Are Made Of This. Uncanny’s the word.
Surely nothing can beat Sweet Dreams + White Stripes Mashup | Pomplamoose ft. Sarah Dugas - YouTube

2 Likes

My immediate instinct was to mash up two songs that absolutely don’t belong together.
I went with the Andrew Sisters’ “Bongo Bongo Bongo” and Rammstein’s “Du Hast”.
It sure is… something.
Du 1948 (rave.dj)

2 Likes

Gotta admit mashing up PSY with MC Hammer seems almost inevitable in hindsight.

I gave it a shot… and got an interesting failure.

I chose Cyndi Lauper’s “Time After Time” mixed with Foxy Shazam’s “Oh Lord,” because they’re songs I love and well, why not?

The AI’s transitions are clumsy, and it doesn’t seem to be able to strip the vocal line from its background. If you listen closely you can hear both song’s lyrics at the same time, one loud, one soft. Since one song is shorter than the other, when it ends, the other song is abruptly cut off.