Bad Idea: Bankman-Fried to take the stand

Originally published at: Bankman-Fried to take the stand

4 Likes

No worries. Sammy clearly is the smartest guy in the room.

7 Likes

Since I’m not his lawyer, I am perfectly ok with this decision.

9 Likes

Putting your client on the stand so that he can say all the things that you specifically decided not to make part of his defense doesn’t sound like a genius move to me, but I am not a lawyer.

As I understand it, you put your client on the stand when (a) you trust them to stick to the script, and (b) you expect them to appear likable and trustworthy to the jury.

I don’t think Sam Bankman-Fried is someone who sticks to the script.

4 Likes

I don’t think it’s a bad idea at all. I mean, I think the guy should do time.

6 Likes

We’ll see if they’ll buy Studiously Schlubby Sam’s claim of being a paragon of Effective Altruism when he’s sporting a suit and (from what I’ve read) a haircut from a fellow inmate. Maybe the wunderkind will ask that the court allow him to give his testimony from a beanbag chair while he plays a video game to balance things out.

I suspect his lawyers know he’s already screwed. All of his former associates’ testimony made it clear that he was a grifter trying to cover up his crimes in any way possible, and running his mouth off in the press and trying to tamper with witnesses didn’t help. If he wants to try one more encore of his disheveled genius act before the curtain comes crashing down on his head, they’ll do what he asks as long as his mommy and daddy keep paying the bills.

4 Likes

Pop Corn Eating GIF

2 Likes

Lawyer Wife works in securities and has been following this case pretty closely. She sent me a text saying he was going to take the stand with “Pop me some fucking popcorn.”

9 Likes

I would be surprised if his lawyers didn’t advise him to not take the stand. Ultimately, it’s the client’s decision.