Boeing withdraws application for safety exemption for 737 MAX 7

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2024/01/30/boeing-withdraws-application-for-safety-exemption-for-737-max-7.html

7 Likes

steganographic poem

Morgan Freeman Applause GIF by The Academy Awards

10 Likes

“… an anti-ice system that can overheat and cause the engine nacelle to break apart and fall off. This could generate fuselage-penetrating debris, which could endanger passengers in window seats.”

I’m no aero engineer, but I feel that if the engine nacelle breaks apart and falls off, it could endanger more than just the passengers in the window seats.

Or does the de-icing system only promise to shred the external covering of the nacelle and, not, say, cause the entire thing to part company with the wing and head merrily groundward?

10 Likes

As I understand it, this is an issue with the composite cowl of the engines, which if deicing is run too long, could weaken, break off and impact the fuselage.

If I’m right, doesn’t the same issue affect all models of the MAX?

1 Like

I think the biggest concern here is that there appears to be a process for being granted “safety exemptions”. Some exemptions should never apply, if you ask me.

10 Likes

‘by skimping on mcas hardware and not having to retrain pilots, we saved billions and only lost two airliners. No one has actually died from our faulty fuselages or de-icing systems - it seems unfair that we have to fix those things since they haven’t caused any crashes yet’

4 Likes

New marketing tagline just dropped:

“Boeing: We’ll get you most of the way, most of the time.”

2 Likes

Surely you can’t be serious.

confused paul rudd GIF

4 Likes

There is no 737 MAX 7.
The 737 NG had model designations of 737-700, 737-800, and 737-900.
the newer 737 MAX uses model designations of 737-8, 737-9, and 737-10.