Box rigged with firecracker provides unpleasant surprise for package thief

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2017/12/11/box-rigged-with-firecracker-pr.html

3 Likes

10 Likes

I’m no expert in “package thief videos” as a medium, but this looks staged to me. All the multiple camera angles, the significant amount of time spent reading the package, as if waiting for the firecrackers inside to go off…fishy.

7 Likes

Package theft has become a real scourge in my neighborhood. Thanks to the shift to online shopping, it’s a viable means of making money, apparently. People actually follow the delivery van around so they can grab the packages within seconds of them being placed on porches.

2 Likes

Obligatory downer comment: the surprise-maker is committing a much more serious crime than the petty thief. (Your jurisdiction and prosecutor may vary, but broadly speaking.)

I know, I know, serves 'em right. Just saying, IF this is real and IF that was anything bigger than a Christmas Cracker, the trap-layer is exposing him/herself to some pretty nasty charges leveled by shockingly unsympathetic prosecutors.

16 Likes

Considering the one thing they care about is the number of successful wins on their record… This isn’t terribly shocking.

6 Likes

Yeah, but I mean, there are also really, really good reasons to want to discourage people from laying traps designed to injure (or with the potential to injure) other people.

The Platonic ideal of the just and fair prosecutor would also be a real hardass about this.

9 Likes

One of the many benefits of being a Homeowner is that you can drill holes in things with relative impunity.
As a beneficiary of said status, I am strongly tempted to drill a small hole in my front porch.
After admiring my work I would then secure 10ft of cable to an Amazon Box with the cable exiting via the “bottom” and threaded through hole (previously drilled).