Brooks Brothers bankrupt

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/07/08/brooks-brothers-bankrupt.html

7 Likes

Looks like it was a victim of overenthusiastic expansion. Which is a change of pace from retailers who were picked clean by private equity raiders.

18 Likes

Hey, I’m not a lawyer but I loved their line, and shopping in their stores was also a positive experience. Stuff wasn’t cheap though, that is for sure.

12 Likes

Can’t say I am surprised. I rather liked the quality of their stuff, just normally found it over priced.

5 Likes

Can’t say i’ve never bought anything there, i’ve looked their stuff online once and laughed at the prices. It’s certainly a shame to see a company that’s been around that long file for bankruptcy but i’m mystified how they hung around this long.

1 Like

Well, with the

large numbers of lawyers

most of whom are getting fatter all the time with their ever-expanding fees and needing ever bigger suits and shirts to fit their ever-expanding girth, well of course there had to be overenthusiastic expansion.

8 Likes

You mean an over priced clothier who often pays airport rent to sell $1000 suits to travelers went bankrupt? How could this happen?

4 Likes

Got my first work suits at Brooks Brothers and bought my shirts there for many years (needed long arms and a big neck). Recently moved to another american brand, but I have fond memories. Maybe it’s because I am an 80s kid and read the preppie handbook one too many times (while being sad I didn’t have any of the needed items).

8 Likes

It was one of those increasingly rare situations in America where an expensive product was also well-made and lasted a long time compared to a cheaper item (cf. Sam Vimes Boots Theory). The style was also relatively timeless, so it’s possible you could see someone wearing a well-cared-for Brooks Brothers jacket purchased decades before.