Chemistry student poisoned roommate with thallium purchased online

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/12/01/chemistry-student-poisoned-roommate-with-thallium-purchased-online.html

4 Likes

In 2018, he was also charged with ethnic intimidation after writing racist graffiti in the room he shared with Royal.

Only 6 to 12 years for a hate crime?

Further googling shows he wrote the N-word. Royal is black.

14 Likes

Tsk. When I was a chemistry student I only ever stole chemicals to use on myself.

PS poisoning someone with metals is even more of a dick move than regular murder. There are much more effective and less unpleasant options

7 Likes

Curious that he didn’t follow Agatha Christie and use the sulfate ‘salt’

The poison prescribed by Agatha Christie: Thanks to the mystery writer, the deadly properties of thallium sulphate have become common knowledge … [link]

(perhaps not also available via the internetz)

2 Likes

My lab partner and I once stole a large bottle of silver nitrate to try and make silver plated electrodes out of window screen for use in a fuel cell we were trying to build, but I guess that’s not really the same thing. Sorry, I just wanted to feel like I was part of the conversation.

17 Likes

Probably all you need to make it is dilute sulfuric acid. Which is very available.

4 Likes

6 to 12 years in prison is a very long time. I think “extra punishment for motive” is more of a gift to prosecutors than it is likely to result in fewer hate crimes. Then again, it’s very hard to know when it’s a good idea to release sociopaths.

3 Likes

All roommates must die!

(pretend this is in caps)

DO YOU NOT KNOW HOW TO DO ALL CAPS?

8 Likes

Whether or not hate crime enhancements should exist or not is a separate issue. They do exist and Pennsylvania has one. So why is the sentence comparatively lenient for attempted murder in the US criminal justice system?

7 Likes