Click your way to your favorite monospace font

Originally published at: Click your way to your favorite monospace font | Boing Boing

6 Likes

They’ve got a bunch of monospaced fonts, but not my favorite (Monaco). I’ve been using it as my terminal font for 15+ years and can’t imagine switching to anything else.

2 Likes

Well, this is timely, considering yesterday’s procrastination for me was about an hour spent trying to find a nice coding font.

11 Likes

I really wasn’t in love with any of them, but I ended up with Source Code Pro, which isn’t too bad.
Hard to beat Consolas for general purpose coding.

5 Likes

This was lovely. I discovered a font that I didn’t know existed and I really like it. It lacked a lot of more common mono spaced fonts, but it was well worth the few minutes to make the discovery I made.

If they only did this for other font styles, I think I’d be happier with setting up a new computer. It’s like going to the eye doctor, “number 1 or number 2”, repeat until I can see clearly.

3 Likes

I’d like to see them do this again, except instead of tournament style there’s some enumerated set of font features common to monospace fonts, and it evaluates your preference by comparing fonts that are similar except for the feature being tested. Then it takes your preferences and finds the font that seems to comport to your preferred features most closely.

With this version, it’s a little too easy to dismiss a font because you notice one feature you don’t like – but you might never realize that it’s overall the most pleasing / usable / readable.

2 Likes

I see this so rarely that I have to wonder if it could be true this time.

Every once in a while I try a different coding font. Consolas, DejaVu Sans Mono, JetBrains Mono, Bitstream Vera Sans Mono are all ones I’ve spent significant time with over the past several years. These days I’m using Hack and have been quite happy with it.