Cryptic Crossword Clues

(feel free to come up with a better title)

Anyway, inspired by finally trying (and completing, with only a little cheating) a cryptic crossword for the first time in ages, I figured it might make for a fun game here.

Compose puzzles here, or list favourites, maybe have a different thread for answers.

For starters, one from the Private Eye crossword I did earlier that I liked:

Princess-to-be stocks sulphur instead of carbon for pharmacist (9)

I hate those, well maybe not hate, just get very frustrated with them to not stick with them enough to get good.

1 Like

I guess I should add something like this if I’m hoping people will try it.

I suck at them, but I used to work with a few people who were interested and we’d do the Times ones at lunchtime, and my mum’s good at the Telegraph one.

As far as I can tell, you need to learn the quirks of the person that compiles them, the phrases they like to use.

Oh MrsTobinL loves them. I got a NYT puzzle subscription at xmas as I have come to love a regular crossword. But the cryptic ones not so much.

Okay, I think the “sulphur instead of carbon” means I need to replace a “C” with an “S” somewhere… and I’m lost from there.

1 Like

Something to do with Cinderella or another fairytale prince’s bride? Cinders contain a lot of carbon and “Cinderella” starts with “C”, but I may be barking up the wrong tree there. I don’t think I’ve ever fully completed a cryptic crossword.

The Nation crossword is a favorite in my household.

@daneel

DISPENSER. I assume the clue is an old one?

3 Likes

Nah, it was from the most recent one.

Now you have to come up with a clue. :smile:

I can solve them, but setting them is almost beyond me.

yeah, the only thing that comes to mind

bloody battle against southern friend.

Nerpy!

ANTIETAM

Just finished Harper’s September 2016 puzzle “Foursomes”!

2 Likes