Danny Masterson convicted of drugging and raping women

Originally published at: Danny Masterson convicted of drugging and raping women | Boing Boing

8 Likes

Yet the organization still walks free…

17 Likes

Has anyone seen DM lately? What ever happened with his subpoena situation?

2 Likes

Yikes!

I’m not a lawyer, but based on my not insubstantial understanding of contract law, most of those seem unenforceable. Especially the “kidnap clause.” You can’t sign away your freedom. The contract might be sufficient to indemnify them from bad things that happen while you’re participating willingly, but as soon as you want to stop they’d have no legal basis to continue holding you.

Of course, fighting these would require you to go up against their army of lawyers, who are no doubt spawned directly from the furthest depths of hell.

8 Likes

Is Danny Masterson the first “Celebrity” Scientologist to be convicted and led out of court in cuffs? If he’s not I bet it’s been a really, really long time since something like this happened.

Not that Scientology has been around all that long but they do have a reputation for undue influence in celebrity court cases and any cases brought forth regarding their religion and practices.

6 Likes

Some Libertarians argue that you can. There’s a lot of affinity between them and the Cult of $cientology (aversion to paying taxes being another).

Anyhow, glad the Cult lost their fight to defend their slimeball celebrity endorser.

13 Likes

A Queer and Pleasant Danger by Kate Bornstein is also a pretty enlightening expose of the practices of Scientology. Before she came out as trans and transitioned, Bornstein was very high up in the Church leadership, back when Hubbard was still alive. The book isn’t exclusively about that, but it covers a lot of it.

7 Likes