Elon Musk sues OpenAI and its CEO Sam Altman

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2024/03/01/elon-musk-sues-openai-and-its-ceo-sam-altman.html

6 Likes

That’s not how founding charters work…

14 Likes

It does rather come across as yet another ‘if I can’t have it, no one can have it’ tirade from Musk.

14 Likes

Musk did invest some in the beginning, but I wonder if his lawyers can prove that he has standing to sue them.

Now that he’s jumped into AI, he wants to hobble a competitor.

16 Likes

I am not a lawyer, but “something, something, standing?”

11 Likes

I’m reading the actual complaint now (and I reiterate my desire that links to the actual legal documents be included in stories on these lawsuits—this is freely available public information and it would be nice to not have to go search for it—and this complaint is not aimed at BB’s contributors because they aren’t journalists—I mean this for the source articles). The complaint doesn’t talk much about standing, but it does point out that Musk has continued donating money to the non-profit OpenAI foundation, and that might be enough to give him standing. I fully expect OpenAI’s attorneys to file a motion to dismiss for lack of standing, so we’ll see how that plays out.

As much as I hate Musk, I think he’s kind of got a point here. I don’t know if there’s a legal case, but OpenAI was founded with the idea that AI technology needed to be open and freely accessible, at least as far as the code goes, and creating a for-profit subsidiary and getting in bed with Microsoft feels like going against that mission. I’m going to keep reading the complaint and give some more thoughts later, but my initial impression is that, while a lot of the language in the complaint is probably overstating Musk’s role in the development of AI and comes across as bragging, I’m not sure the underlying complaint doesn’t have some merit.

29 Likes