Fan of TV painting host Bob Ross? Watch the very first episode of his show

[Read the post]

3 Likes

Just watched it at double speed. Still good, still leaves, still zen.

I’m only 20 and this is something that’s bothered me for ages:
Was Almighty a brand, or is that just an adjective he uses a lot…?

I’m pretty sure his use of “almighty” is used as a spiritual invocation. It’s no brand I know of, but I could easily be wrong. I’m not an artist. But he’s using “almighty” to describe the picture, Michelangelo and his painting equipment.

Also, did anyone else notice the construction work in the background? He did a pretty good job of not letting the clattering tubes faze him.

Yeah, that’s what I’ve figured, but I wasn’t sure if there was overlap there, since he does treat it like it’s a brand of painting equipment.

Frequent use of the word “Almighty” and references to heart. A desire to encourage free expression and an unshakable belief that, yes you can do it. What manner of advanced civilisation produced a program like this?

1 Like

Well, Bob Ross spent a lot of time in the airforce, on base in Alaska as master sgt. and was the 1st sgt. of the USAF clinic at Ellison. He said that he didn’t like being mean and tough. He didn’t like chewing people out for being late and such. He said “if I ever move on from the military I’ll never scream again.”

So, the Bob Ross we know from PBS is a guy who swore never to yell, because he hated it.

10 Likes

Bob Ross always makes me smile. When he talks of his happy little clouds or trees or mountains, life just takes on such a lovely mellow, relaxed feel, and worries melt away and are forgotten. I wonder if he knew that he could touch people like that?

2 Likes