Firefox plug-in to make Wikipedia nicer

Originally published at: Firefox plug-in to make Wikipedia nicer | Boing Boing

6 Likes

Is it compatible with legacy browsers?

7 Likes
8 Likes

Added it and already love it for the dark mode alone. Hey Boing Boing, can you add a dark mode to your site? So much easier on my eyes.

Great plugin, really improves the Wikipedia experience.

3 Likes

Ooooh…Pretty. Installed it and I like.

3 Likes

Highly recommend the Dark Reader addon for Firefox. BoingBoing is nice and dark after installation.

5 Likes

Thanks, I’ll check that out!

Nice. I’ve been using Wikiwand for a few years which does a similar thing but via their own front-end. I find it a massive improvement over the standard Wikipedia.

I have their extension which redirects me to Wikiwand whenever I view a Wikipedia article, eg: https://www.wikiwand.com/en/Wikipedia

Am I alone in thinking that the standard Wiki layout is fine as is?

5 Likes

I can second, Dark Reader is a life saver.

I also recommend just always having night mode anti-blue filters on all the time, unless you’re doing something that actually requires accurate color.

3 Likes

The layout itself is fine and usable. I just hate that the default wiki styles don’t have a readability focused dark mode.

1 Like

This extension seems like little more than a wrapper around some CSS, so it shouldn’t be difficult for someone to pull out the CSS for use with a style manager extension for their legacy browser.

2 Likes

Ok, if I win the auction, I’ll give you a call.

1 Like

I tried both this and Wikiwand, and far prefer Wikiwand. But one thing I don’t like about either is that, on a desktop with a wide monitor, the article is centered, with big areas of white space on both sides. I wish I could make that go away.

Otherwise, I’m glad for both projects, and wish there were more efforts like this to improve the readability of web sites.