Five years after Google conquered and abandoned RSS, the news-reader ecosystem is showing green shoots

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/03/30/information-diet-advice.html

6 Likes

I follow bOINGbOING primarily through RSS. In fact, that’s how I found this post!

23 Likes

RSS isn’t just a syndication standard though. Like email, It’s a model for the way the internet can and should work. Standard communication formats creating the groundwork for a blossoming ecosystem of clients. I want RSS to succeed to prove that this is the future of the internet.

I’m a web developer at a nonprofit, and we have a massive database that has a lot of it’s own functionality for events, personal consultation, person-level profiles, organizations, etc… and we are constantly interfacing with web clients that other people use for these purposes. I’m pushing our people to put as much work into data standardization and communication with partners as we do building our own client interfaces. Hopefully that will pay off.

If anything will save us from walled gardens of social media, it will be a non-profit consortium that miraculously standardizes the skeletons of social media posting and a protocal for echanging them, so that anyone can use any client to post/read and make connections. Yeah, I know how that sounds.

20 Likes

“If you go after entertainment, you’re not competing against other reader news tools. You’re really competing with Instagram and other things people do to kill time,” says Khodabakchian.

I’m sure that’s true in a business sense, but I came here from a link in my Feedly “Entertainment” feed. Still better than anything my wife comes up with on Facebook, to the point where she had me set her up with it as well.

6 Likes