French software engineer may have cracked the Zodiac killer's code

Originally published at: French software engineer may have cracked the Zodiac killer's code | Boing Boing

5 Likes
11 Likes

French software engineer may have cracked the Zodiac killer’s co

Now onto that whole French 257 different types of cheeses, we must have an answer to this!

4 Likes

To go with the wines.

5 Likes

tenor-9

7 Likes

I guess in six or seven months, someone else will claim to have cracked the codes, yet again. (Or are there any left undeciphered now, assuming we accept this latest claim?)

5 Likes

I’m not sure why the Times is covering this. I’m no Zodiac expert, but this guy does seem like run-of-the-mill Zodiac crank.

My favorite part was when he posted the solution for cipher Z13 as “KAYE” even though the solution he found was “KAYR” because it “resembles” the name of suspect Kaye. So he based his solution on prior knowledge of a lead in the case, was still 25% wrong, and he lied about it. Some nice code-solving there, buddy.

I also think the whole “magnetic coordinates” stuff might be ridiculous on its face; I doubt that in 1969 the Zodiac killer would have had access the precise-to-three-decimal-places coordinates (in a system different than “the more familiar geographic coordinates”) for a high school.

9 Likes

The code broken last year was the last cipher that experts considered long enough to be accessible to cryptography. This article is reporting on someone who has claimed to have deciphered the final two ciphers, which are generally considered too short to decode–there’s just not enough information there.

8 Likes

I’m not an expert either, but the solution sound convincing to me given other known facts. What I’d love to know are other solutions to know if there are a large set of similarly plausible solutions.

3 Likes