Hamilton in American Sign Language

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2016/09/23/hamilton-in-american-sign-lang.html

Okay, I am a UK person so I had to Google ‘Alexander Hamilton’ to see who he was. As I typed in ‘Alexander’ the options were…

• Alexander
  • Alexander Hamilton
  • Alexander the Great

From my non-US viewpoint, that doesn’t seem quite right, but I guess it is a breaking meme.

3 Likes

I’m not sure a broadway show that’s sold out for years to come is really a “breaking meme”.

4 Likes

Hah! Now, I look ignorant about Alexander Hamilton twice! My shame knows no bounds*.

• which means it doesn’t start, either.
2 Likes

Yeah, not an online meme. It’s just a really good play, and i grew up in Latin America so my knowledge of the founding of the US is decent but my awareness of Alexander Hamilton was very minimal… and i love the musical. Obsessed even, i’ve been listening to it almost every day for a few months now.

I don’t know how enjoyable Hamilton would be in ASL. The play has songs where the lyrics are very quick and some characters sing on top of others constantly. But i’d love to get an opinion from someone that is good with ASL :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I was thinking about that this morning … there’s a lot of wordplay and double-meanings in the lyrics, and I’m not sure some of it would translate. For example, I notice she signs “sick” like “I feel sick”. But the line is “sitting in their own sick” so I feel like the sign for “vomit” would make more sense there.

I like when she fingerspells his whole name, the first time and then the last. I only wish my fingerspelling was that fast.

(Disclaimer: I am only adequate at ASL, and I’m out of practice.)

2 Likes

Yeah it seems tricky, i didnt even think about word play and puns not translating