How to fix common mistakes in Git

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2017/12/18/how-to-fix-common-mistakes-in.html

4 Likes

Nice article, but a bit technical for the BB crowd, no? Outside of developers, I don’t think anyone cares. BB does have a high ration of devs in the comment section, but they (we) would normally get this information elsewhere.

…kill

I like it! Thanks! Just started using Git and I’m sure I’ll find this useful.

5 Likes

Actually version control is useful for writing as well, especially if you stick to plain text.

6 Likes

Yes, I use it for writing, but I’m weird that way. It only works if you are using text (or markdown, or html, or latex, etc). But, I would say that track changes in Word or Google Docs is sufficient for most non-technical purposes.

I’m not a developer, and yet it’s useful for me. I sometimes contribute to open source projects, and it’s very easy do make mistakes with git. Also, as I work as scientist/academic teacher, I write in LaTeX and while I’ve not yet tried git for document version control, it could be useful. I think that it could be also useful for some CAD software that stores models in text format, like SolveSpace.

3 Likes

But we still can’t fix Gitmo.

4 Likes

Huh, just saw this and in 15 minutes I am going to co-lead an intro workshop/seminar on using git.

3 Likes

I use GitKraken, it has good branch diagrams which I’ve found are critical to understanding what’s going on.

1 Like

Git is becoming more common in Windows-land as well. A lot of projects at my Windows-stack centric company are moving to it, now that Microsoft supports it as a first class citizen. TFS/VSTS can host GIT repo’s and supports the GIT proto.

1 Like

The time I spent writing those 3 sentences was really wasted.

2 Likes

Commonest mistake? Using it…