Hundreds of cops misuse databases yearly, says report

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2016/09/30/hundreds-of-cops-misuse-databa.html

1 Like

You people should be cheering. Police are only abusing databases, they aren’t shooting them.

14 Likes

Well I was thinking the same thing. This could be ameliorated by installing keylogging software, but can you imagine the stink the FOP would make? Even the least effort to hold police accountable is proof you hate freedom and want the terrorists to win. Rapers too. If I had to choose my battles I’d pick tamper-proof body cams.

5 Likes

I don’t doubt this at all. When I used to be a nurse, everyone I worked with inappropriately used the database to look up folks they knew and whatnot. They tracked ID’s, so they would just get a work buddy to look it up for them. We had HCFA regulations, but that didn’t scare anyone.

4 Likes

So if we have, say, a million police officers in the US and a thousand of them are misusing the database, then that’s less than one tenth of a percent of our cops are doing this. Not bad. I’m glad it isn’t a big problem.

From the article:

The number of violations was surely far higher since records provided were spotty at best, and many cases go unnoticed.

[…]

The AP tally, based on records requested from 50 states and about three dozen of the nation’s largest police departments, is unquestionably an undercount.

Some departments produced no records at all. Some states refused to disclose the information, said they don’t comprehensively track misuse or produced records too incomplete or unclear to be counted. Florida reported hundreds of misuse cases of its driver database, but didn’t say how often officers were disciplined.

And some cases go undetected, officials say, because there aren’t clear red flags to automatically distinguish questionable searches from legitimate ones.

6 Likes