Inside job

[Permalink]

1 Like

Looking forward to reading this. Most people don’t know Poland actually maintained a government in exile during the Nazi occupation. My Ex’s grandfather was in the Polish Home Army - which I believe is a sister group.

He was captured and either escaped or was let go 3 times by the Nazis. He was gone from his family for months at a time. He was an engineer by trade and did fun things like blow up bridges. They have a picture of him getting the Polish equivalent to the National Medal of Honor from Lech Walesa.

When Poland got fucked over by the allies and given to the Soviets, he spent a few years in prison because he wouldn’t sign papers claiming loyalty to the Communist Party.

My MiL is extremely proud of him. I wish I had met him.

3 Likes

Resistance to Nazis is great but unfortunately the enemy of my enemy is not always my friend. Some Polish guerrillas carried out a secondary goal of persecuting any unarmed Jews they were able to find, even after the German surrender they perpetrated many murderous attacks against the returning human skeletons to prevent them from returning to their homes that Poles wanted to keep.
The quick research I did shows that Witold Pilecki was the first one to expose Aushwitz, he was a good guy when the allies could not care less about stopping the death machine to divert a single bomber on a single day to damage the rail lines.

Some Polish guerrillas killed Jews but numerous Poles helped Jews by hiding them in the cellars, barns and other secret places. And they paid great price for this: when discovered by Nazis whole families (sometimes whole villages) were shot, burned or hanged.

BTW. if you want to see how soviets killed Rotmistrz Pilecki using some made-up excuses during a show trial you can watch this film: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-2elOo6jii4. Unfortunately it’s only in Polish.

2 Likes