Intended to solve inequities in vaccine distribution, California's system was abused to vaccinate the white and wealthy

Originally published at: Intended to solve inequities in vaccine distribution, California's system was abused to vaccinate the white and wealthy | Boing Boing

3 Likes

I have to say that I did get a hold of one of those codes last week and it was confusing. To be clear: I DID NOT SIGN UP FOR AN APPOINTMENT. But I did poke around because I’ve been a professional beta tester and having used the LA County site to set up my fully qualified mother for vaccination, I was curious.

It was sent to me with the info that a “new vaccination site under FEMA was opening up and needed to populate their first few days of appointments.”

When you go to the CA run “MyTurn” site you enter the basic info about where you are, your age and demographic (racial) profile, your job and finally your ZIP. You include the code in the form. When I tried it (actually several times with various demo info, all for white people of different ages under 65 in both LA and neighboring LA cities within the county).

Then it says that you qualify. And gives you appointments that are available.

So without any context, a decent person who wasn’t well versed with that our current Tier is might think that they are actually entitled to this. Because they freely provided demo info and the system says that they may “check ID and supporting documentation.”

There is nothing in the system that says what the code is, who it was intended for, so if given one of these codes, it’s impossible to know.

I knew better, and I think that others who were educated enough about the current vaccine situation should have known better. I also know that this was very poorly programmed.

15 Likes