International Criminal Court in the Hague will now try CEOs

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2016/09/18/international-criminal-court-i.html

7 Likes

CEOs whose businesses are complicit in human rights atrocities – like the mass murder of people who object to land-grabs by mineral extraction companies – can now be tried in the International Criminal Court in the Hague.

I damn near fell out’a my chair when I read that.

28 Likes

The fact that the US isn’t going to play ball provides reassurance that it’s still Business As Usual, mind.

23 Likes

It would, but does that apply to a multinational corporation headquartered in Ireland or the Caymans for tax purposes, using some kind of double-Dutch-sandwich ownership structure to further diffuse its tax location? Can they still arrest the real CEO who’s American?

4 Likes

I studied a bit of international law once upon a time, and I thought this sounded a bit odd, so I investigated a bit. It seems that this NGO (Global Witness) is responding to a document released by the ICC’s Office of the Prosecutor (“OTP”) the other day. In that document, the OTP writes: “The Office will also seek to cooperate and provide assistance to States, upon request, with respect to conduct which constitutes a serious crime under national law, such as the illegal exploitation of natural resources, arms trafficking, human trafficking, terrorism, financial crimes, land grabbing or the destruction of the environment.” It then cites art. 93(10) of the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court, which states: “The Court may, upon request, cooperate with and provide assistance to a State Party conducting an investigation into or trial in respect of conduct which constitutes a crime within the jurisdiction of the Court or which constitutes a serious crime under the national law of the requesting State.”