iPhone Xs charging and connectivity woes can be cured with a software update

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/10/08/iphone-xs-charging-and-connect.html

2 Likes

Thank you.

sent from my iPhone 5s

3 Likes

I wonder if it also addresses the bug that Do Not Disturb settings override the alarm? - in contrast to every previous release and to common sense.

2 Likes

So is Apple now emulating MS in the QA dept? [note that MS has pulled the Oct update due to the fact that it can eat your docs]

I dunno. I’ve been using Apple’s operating systems since I was about 5, 35 years ago, and I would say the recent iOS, tvOS, and macOS updates are, like… 8.6 good. Which if you know Apple, means something. I’d say these point-oh issues were somewhat minor, and that in all, this has been the best round of OS updates for Apple product owners in years. Performance (making old devices feel fast), reliability and optimization (things work… better, now) are really, really nice to see in a contemporary OS update. Those tend to be so “feature-oriented.” This one actually makes things work BETTER.

2 Likes

Interesting, there must be more to it then that. My DnD ends at 7am, and my alarm is a bit before six. It has worked every weekday since iOS 12 came out (no weekend alarms for me!)

Maybe some other conditions also need to be true?

1 Like

That is fascinating because it immediately stopped working when I upgraded and even warns me that an alarm won’t work when DnD is set.

Let me just check the instruction manual (laughing hollowly)

Yeah, but it’s Apple! People will twist themselves in knots looking for things to fault them on. I’m no blind loyalist, but my experiences with apple products have been 99.9% problem free and I couldn’t even begin to count how much of their hardware I’ve owned.

1 Like