Jan 6 inquiry votes to hold Steve Bannon held in contempt for refusing to give evidence

Originally published at: Jan 6 inquiry votes to hold Steve Bannon held in contempt for refusing to give evidence | Boing Boing

8 Likes

At the risk of sounding like a member of what Glenn Greenwald called a “sadistic liberal mob”, I would love to see this fascist orc chieftain hauled before the commission in manacles and held to account for his part in the assault on liberal democracy.

39 Likes

I hope this is just a feint while they exercise their inherent contempt powers and arrest him.

31 Likes

Maybe it’s just me, but I was raised to believe that receiving a subpoena kinda meant that you either showed up, or got arrested. I wasn’t aware that there was a whole “Well, now that changes things, we need to agree that you aren’t gonna cooperate and then make another decision” aspect when dealing with the government.

Fully admitting that I’m not a lawyer here, but really, is there a reason that he couldn’t have just been served with papers and then apprehended for failing to appear?

39 Likes

The Committee has passed a motion to petition the House to request a hearing to preliminarily investigate the possibiliy of drafting a proposal to write a letter of recommendation for subsequent action to be considered pending legal review. Strap in, folks

24 Likes
15 Likes

They’re going to vote on asking the DOJ to charge him tomorrow.

13 Likes

WHERE ARE THEY NOW, 2031:
Stephen Bannon plans for a return to the political scene after his release from prison did not go well. After losing a series of financially crippling lawsuits he disappeared from public life.
He and his life partner, a coyote he’s named Trixie, live in a refrigerator box behind the dumpsters of the Clown Motel in Tenopah, NV.
If you buy him a bottle of Night Train, a can of dog food, or a box of Ivermectin, he’ll dance for you.

19 Likes

This is congress, not a court of law, so I believe the process is different.