Kashmiri saffron is disappearing

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/02/14/700686.html

1 Like

ELI5 why this can’t be grown anywhere else that has similar ecology or even in a greenhouse where the ecology can be simulated?

oh, and let me add, “please”. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hopefully a food grade red or it might Croakus. Gardening pun!

It can grow in the US but the cost to market would be astronomical. Still, maybe for the hobby garden?

2 Likes

Glad I have a fairly large stockpile in my spice cabinet.

1 Like

This has been known for some time that saffron is endangered. How difficult is it to grow in other parts of the world that have similar climates? Also might be possible to grow new varieties that take well different growing conditions as a precaution, taste might be different but would be better than having it entirely disappear.

1 Like

I’m pretty new to cooking with saffron, I bought some from Costco not long ago, it was a considerable amount for like $10, but I don’t think it’s the same thing as this. I think it’s from Spain. I wonder if there’s any substantial difference between the two?

2 Likes

Spanish saffron is quite good, but doesn’t command as high a price. I imagine it’s a soil (terroir) property that leads to better or stronger flavor?
Just don’t buy the 1-oz $2.99 cellophane bag in the supermarket from the Mexican spice manufacturers labeled “azafrán” and expect it to actually be saffron.

6 Likes

$1550 a pound sounds expensive, but did you ever try to actually eat a pound of saffron? Even a quarter pound is more than I can eat.

@joelfinkle But achiote is yummy too!

4 Likes

It can be grown many places. England used to be a leader in saffron production. I even have a couple raised beds of it. But climate and soil make a difference, and Kashmir is almost perfect.

6 Likes

“Mexican saffron” is safflower, not the same thing at all.
And if you buy powdered saffron you can be sure there’s no saffron in it.

5 Likes