'Koyaanisqatsi' meets fractals in mind-bending short film "Circulatory Systems"

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/09/12/koyaanisqatsi-meets-fracta.html

4 Likes

koyaanisqatsi is perhaps my favorite movie of all time. for 17 years i showed it to all of my 6th grade classes. when i first started showing it i had one or two kids who vomited during the human activity sections by the end of my run as a 6th grade teacher i had students who quite literally cried to me about how boring it was.

i’ve probably seen it all the way through 300-350 times and it never gets old for me. i own the criterion collection blu-ray edition. may watch it tonight after my wife finishes watching say yes to the dress tonight.

in some ways similar but very different in aesthetic is herzog’s fata morgana.

13 Likes

Here’s the embed for those who want it:

6 Likes

Agreed. It’s a film that has no peers in all of film history. Seeing this trailer reminds me that I’ve never seen it in high definition; this looks gorgeous.

Anytime Godfrey Reggio comes up, I feel obliged to share another of his great works, Evidence. Profoundly persuasive without having to say a damn thing.

8 Likes

It blew my mind when I first watched it, too! A towering accomplishment, especially given the gear at the time.

3 Likes

This came out when I was in college. A buddy and I decided to smoke some pot and go see it. We had the screening time wrong and showed up 45 minutes late, so we decided against buying tickets. I’ve yet to see it.

Seeing Koyaanisqatsi as a kid in the 80’s on a rented VHS player (remember when you could rent those in bulky plastic cases?), made a huge impact on my psyche. Clues like Reggio, Glass & Fricke’s vision, seeded throughout the culture were inestimably valuable as a youngster as evidence that there existed possibilities of media and technological arts beyond the grim commercial fodder.