Lighting scars on eyes of man blinded by electric shock

[Permalink]

Reading the article, it sounds like the juice went in his shoulder, and came out his eyes with “concurrent damage to the optic nerve and retina”.

I’ve taken more volts than that, but it didn’t shoot out of my eyes. Holy carp.

3 Likes

You’re lucky they didn’t come through your genitals either.

That looks like something the props department would whip up for characters who have stared too deep into the unknowable… Gruesome.

2 Likes

I’ve been an EMT for ten years. Eye injuries are the only thing that skeeve me out. If you’ll excuse me, I’m going to squirm uncomfortably and cuss for a little bit.

4 Likes

well, I always heard that the worst-case scenario was a big jolt passing through your heart, but having read both this article and your post I’m no longer convinced that’s true…

Electricity’s gonna take the shortest path with the least resistance so I guess that means it’s a good rule of thumb to not have your head close to any wires while doing electrical work.

Or anywhere near our weak biological frames for that matter, but that’s not really the relevant part of this case.

“Pluck them out! Pluck them out! Pluck them out!”

amperage anyone? because i thought that is what matters when it comes to electrocution.

Jeepers!
Creepers!
Where’d you get them peepers?
Jeepers!
Creepers!
Where’d you get those eyes?

1 Like

Back when I was in college, I had this good friend who had these weird scars on the sides of his feet, up toward the ankles. They were round, and about 2-3" in diameter. I asked him about them, and he told me, back when he was a little kid, he was climbing a tree, and had gotten pretty high up into it, when he grabbed onto what he thought was a branch, but was actually an electric line that has running through the branches. He was electrocuted and thrown out of the tree. The current entered his body at his hand and exited at his feet, where the scars now were.