Mad Max style "funny front" motorcycle I built at local hacker space

Had a post about this before, but was a LONG time ago so now closed. Much progress since then - the bike is actually finished and (roughly) ride-able. In fact, it is currently at a mechanics shop getting carb work done to resolve … well, the fact it has 37 year old carbs and was pulled apart and rebuilt, basically. It actually starts pretty nicely when cold, but after a minute or so either dies or revs up to idle at 5,000 rpm. I was able to limp it around the block in that condition, but it obviously needed work and while I can shape metal, even moving bits, I’m not a mechanic.

I have an imgur album with build / engineering info that might answer some common questions re design and safety - http://imgur.com/a/VR3WH

6 Likes

That tight front end kinda freaks me out a bit but otherwise really cool project!

1 Like

Tight as in close to the wheel, or steep rake? It is both.

The arm lengths are adjustable, so I played around a bit (with the bike’s frame jacked up on a stand and the spring perch loose on the shock) seeing how short I could get the wheelbase without anything clashing during suspension travel.

Adjustable arm length means adjustable rake; the trail is also separately adjustable vie the connection to the top of the fork. I was shooting for 20 degrees or less, which obviously is very steep, but trail would still be the conventional 3-4 inches. The thinking there comes from the info in this article - https://tonyfoale.com/Articles/RakeEx/RakeEx.htm

I ended up a bit over 21 degrees, which gives me dimensions much like a Buell XB12S Lightning scaled up 15% (bigger wheels, longer wheelbase). Its got a steering damper mounted directly from the fork to suspension arm just in case the setup does want to cause shakes at speed.

2 Likes

Is it comfortable to ride?