Makita vs Fakita: $140 driver vs $30 counterfeit

Originally published at: Makita vs Fakita: $140 driver vs $30 counterfeit | Boing Boing

5 Likes

I just built from the ground up a 500 square foot shed using nothing but Harbor Freight tools. Even the $35.00 roofing nailer held up during 7000 nails, I know that because the box held 7000 nails, used them on the siding application too. Moral of the story, cheap and cheerful saves the day!

12 Likes

Im a hobbyist and shop off brands without trouble. If I was a pro with deadlines I would be buying the best I could afford.

12 Likes

It still a good question to understand why such Chinese product have to get the exact same color and almost name if it’s a product by itself?

3 Likes

That is how counterfeiting works.

8 Likes

I was ecstatic when Harbor Freight opened a store about a mile from my house. Lots of cool stuff. One of these days I’m going to pull the trigger on that electric fly swatter that looks like a plastic tennis racquet.

8 Likes

We have one. I like it so much that we now have a backup waiting in the wings, because about 0.4% of the time, I accidentally hit something more solid than it is. Which has shown me that they are amazingly durable for what they are, but they are nowhere near indestructible.

What I’ve learned so far is that the trick is to move it as little and as slowly as you can. Don’t use it as a tennis racket, instead try to either slowly bring it into the fly’s path at the last possible moment, or sweep them from behind, moving not much faster than they are.

12 Likes

This was once said about me…

12 Likes

Cheap power tools are great if you only use them occasionally. However, some cheap drills have alignment issues; you can test this immediately by chucking in a drill bit and running the drill while holding the bit alongside a straightedge. A drill with bad alignment is pretty much worthless.

4 Likes