Man who swerved into motorcyclists blames spider bite

[Read the post]

I have been riding motorcycles since 1968, street riding since 1975. It never ceases to amaze me of the out and out unfounded hatred that morons feel for motorcyclists. It boggles the mind, truley.

7 Likes

Maybe I’d swerve too.

1 Like

So…are we saying that we’re not buying this guy’s story? 'Cause if we do, it’s more of a tragic accident, not evidence of anti-motorcycle rage. If anything, it shows that the motorcyclists were acting dangerously by passing in a no-passing zone. Most of the time, sure, they’d be fine, as long as nothing goes wrong. Yes, I see a lot of crazy, anti-motorcycle assholery out on the roads…but I also see a lot of crazy motorcyclists who really compromise their own safety, and/or the safety of bicyclists and pedestrians. And crazy bicyclists who knock over pedestrians. And joggers in the street who force cyclists out into automotive traffic. It’s not so much that cars need to watch out for motorcycles as it is everybody needs to watch out for everybody. (But yes, it is true that motorcycles and bicycles receive a high degree of road rage.)

1 Like

That doesn’t seem like a spider-bite reaction. I don’t care how painful it is, you’re going to give a shit.

8 Likes

It’s a spider now? It was a wasp in earlier stories. Or, you know, attempted vehicular homicide.

8 Likes

Yeah - I call bull shit.

I did that exact same maneuver when trying out my friends NASCAR simulator game thing. I knew what I was doing.

2 Likes

Yeah, we’re not buying this guy’s story, because when another motorcyclist approached him and said “Dude, you just totally hurt those motorcyclists you ran into!” he replied “I don’t care!”. Multiple times. No remorse then. The only remorse he feels now is that he might not get away with it.

9 Likes

I knew this was Texas as soon as I read the original headline. That’s got to be the most motorcycle-hostile state in the country.

Exactly.