Mattel designed a Barbie doll honoring Eleni Antoniadou's accomplishments, but what are they?

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/09/23/mattel-designed-a-barbie-doll.html

The headline made me think that it was about Barbie’s accomplishments. Which made me think about Barbie sitting down with her boss for an annual review.

14 Likes

The NASA Counterclaim seems to check out: https://people.nasa.gov/people/search?firstName=Eleni&lastName=Antoniadou

Even when I was a contractor, I was listed here.

5 Likes

Me too. In fact that’s EXACTLY what the headline says!
I’ve never heard of this woman but I suspect her key accomplishment is to con Mattel into thinking she is famous enough that Barbie users (a) know her and (b) give a toss. So, kudos for that ‘accomplishment’ at least.

And as I have no idea what John Struan’s handle is here (article is posted by ‘BB Contributor’) it is not even possible to @ him to suggest the headline might need a tweak. @beschizza

3 Likes

Barbie can’t sit down like she used to; unless you have a ‘made to move’ Barbie, her legs don’t bend.

Mattel has also unveiled the “Inspiring Women” series which is pretty cool…

Amelia Earhart, Frida Kahlo, and mathematician Katherine Johnson were first.

https://barbie.mattel.com/shop/en-us/ba/inspiring-women-series

There’s now Rosa Parks and Sally Ride dolls.

These are the ‘higher end’ Signature Collection, so they are more flexible than the ‘standard fare’ dolls.

Also, the Ibtihaj Muhammad Doll is pretty rad.

Too bad about Ms Antoniadou; I wonder if she came about due to an over reliance on wikipedia for research. I recommend getting one anyway, and then do a OOAK doll of Elizabeth Holmes with face repaint and hair transplant. Someone should be able to pull this off.

7 Likes

She sounds like an excellent candidate for FLOTUS. She meets all the current criteria. Are you saying that’s not worth a Barbie Doll?

3 Likes

I tightened the headline a bit, lol.

8 Likes

Excellent work