Maybe the rise in ADHD diagnoses is in part because kids aren't getting enough sleep

[Read the post]

2 Likes

I’m a substitute teacher, and I frequently work supporting ADHD kids. In my experience, this is plausible. My students are often awake most of the night, using electronic devices - playing games, chatting with friends on Facebook, etc. (I really wish their parents would take their devices away for the night!)

I do see one flaw with the hypothesis. Do the kids have insomnia because they really have ADHD, or do the devices deprive them of sleep so they look like they have ADHD?

6 Likes

Living in the city, I have been shocked to see parents and children out and about at midnight… even 1 or 2 am. I was quite strict about bedtime with my son, and it sure as hell wasn’t midnight. I wonder what’s going on in these families?

1 Like

You’d think the biggest symptom of lack of sleep would be being tired.

I strongly suspect that a causal factor in ADHD is seeing fast-moving images on TV. It’s completely unnatural, and it’s getting worse. Take an average TV show and watch how long the camera stays at the same angle. On some shows, the camera angle changes every second or two for the entire show. Advertising is particularly bad.

I suffer from ADD, and I avoid this stuff like the plague. Perhaps coincidentally, I watched a lot of TV as a kid.

3 Likes

Maybe there’s more diagnosis of ADHD because of better diagnostics. Maybe it’s better neural imaging. Maybe it’s recognition and wider acceptance of a malady that used to be considered bad behavior or a moral failing (‘you’re so smart, If only you’d apply yourself’). Or perhaps kids are up with their handhelds because their circadian rhythm causes them to be up at night rather than in the daytime.

And then, where do you put the kids whose ADHD causes them to sleep immense amounts?