Meet Tom the Dancing Bug's newest character: Mickey Mouse!

Originally published at: Meet Tom the Dancing Bug's newest character: Mickey Mouse! - Boing Boing

17 Likes

Minnie Mouse was in Steamboat Willie? Right?

11 Likes

I can’t wait to learn How to Draw Mickey Mouse!

15 Likes

So when will all the newly self-taught experts on laws regarding copyright vs trademarks show up?

10 Likes

She was!

I’m not self taught, I am not quite a lawyer yet, and I am no expert on either copyright or trademark law. But yeah, the status of Mickey Mouse is still very much up in the air. The short film Steamboat Willie is unquestionably now in the public domain. If you want to download a copy and reupload it to YouTube under your name, knock yourself out. If you want to hold a screening in your neighborhood and charge $10 a ticket, knock yourself out. But using Mickey’s likeness to make other comics…that’s firmly in “it depends” territory. But the biggest factor is trademark law, and, therefore, whether a reasonable person would believe the usage is something actually produced or endorsed by Disney. Here, since Tom the Dancing Bug is an established entity in its own right, and it’s clearly identified as being written by Ruben Bolling, with his own copyright notice right there on the comic, and because it’s clearly parody, I can’t see an argument that anyone would believe Disney produced this. So I think Ruben is safe. Not that that would necessarily stop Disney from sending a cease and desist letter anyway, but BoingBoing historically hasn’t been easy to push around.

25 Likes

Mickey sans white gloves (with three lines on the back): safe to use. Post “steam boat” Mickey with gloves: less clear. Consequently that final panel “Classix Comix” is waving some risky pixels around.

1 Like

But let’s not forget: he was depicted wearing those gloves in the original title card for Steamboat Willie, so there’s an argument to make that that version of the character is public domain too.