"More frightened than bigoted": Trumpism dominated by trade, not race

[Read the post]

2 Likes

“I don’t agree with his torture and immigration policies but I do like his job policies!”

16 Likes

More frightened than bigoted? This is a good thing?

8 Likes

I for one am shocked - SHOCKED I TELLS YOU - that years of the Republicans scaring the shit out of their base to manipulate them has gotten out of control.

25 Likes

Bernie says the same thing about jobs, but without all the hate and insults.

I think Trump is a manifestation of many peoples’ inner asshole, that they are too polite to bring out of themselves.

32 Likes

If economics is the real crux of the issue then they are supporting a guy who promotes things that will still hurt them. Trade tariffs will raise prices at Wal-Mart significantly (and I have already seen how Wal-Mart drives out local businesses, so where will people go?) Trump’s health care ideas aren’t significantly different than the ACA for middle America. If we kick out millions of Mexican farm workers, does that mean unemployed Americans are suddenly going to start working the fields for low wages under harsh conditions? Probably not. Trumps ideas would ripple through the economy in ways he probably doesn’t understand. Basically, he talks a good game on the economy and jobs, but despite being a glitzy businessman he doesn’t have anything to back it up. Even his business history is suspect, with cost-cutting, subverting labor laws, underpaying immigrant workers, heavy borrowing, and ripping off investors (not to mention how many of his Trump-branded products are made in China or Bangladesh.)

His audience likes him because he acts tough on issues they want addressed, the only way they might support Bernie is if Bernie destroyed Trump in a debate, and it would have to include some mockery and shouting on Bernie’s part so they would see he’s tough too, and not some tired old intellectual.

7 Likes