Mormon (LDS) church backs Utah medical marijuana legalization deal, even if November ballot initiative fails

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/10/04/mormon-lds-church-backs-utah.html

6 Likes

Unexpected

11 Likes

My heart goes out to you. Being a Utah resident must be tough.

13 Likes

I am also a resident of the Mormonic Republic of Zion. and happily signed the ballot petition. And while it is ridiculous for cannabis use to be illegal under any circumstances, I have long been outraged on behalf of those who need it medically over how long it’s taken to get to this point. I know of several parents who drives to Colorado to purchase it to help their children with their respective ailments, and it helps them.

Unlike, up to now, the LDS hierarchy and Utah Legislature (a distinction without a difference). Of course, as always with those institutions, I’ll believe it when I see it.

6 Likes

This would imply the church leaders take principle more seriously than moralism. How unexpected.

3 Likes

They pulled the same “no flower just oils” stuff in PA IIRC. Later, the expanded to flower, and now they’re looking at recreational. IMHO they know they can’t do it all at once so the first step is getting dispensaries set up and a legal supply chain… once those two are in place it’s easy to switch to flower from oil or whatever, you grow the weed either way. Similarly, once you have a secure storefront you can sell recreationally with just a tweak.

2 Likes

So… weird bar laws continue, but weed’s cool if your Dr. approves?

I’m all for it, but I wonder what the logic was in those closed chambers of elders in Salt Lake (and what part potential $$$ played into it)…

Also, no caffeine, because drugs bad MMMKay!

Maybe it’s ok to drink liquor and caffeine if your doctor prescribes it.

3 Likes

Ah, the good old days of highly alcoholic snake oil cures!

but seriously, some of Utah’s alcohol laws: