New York mayor De Blasio puts down "creepy" police robo-dog that was working with NYPD

Originally published at: New York mayor De Blasio puts down "creepy" police robo-dog that was working with NYPD | Boing Boing

4 Likes

AOC nailed the issue here:

Always enough resources to find new ways to lock poor people up, never enough resources to find ways to alleviate poverty.

44 Likes

For a so-called progressive mayor, De Blasio has made so many of these missteps during his tenure that at times NYC has resembled a late-stage capitalist dystopia straight out of a SF novel.

16 Likes

Spend the MONEY on people/community, not policing, for f@cks sake!

20 Likes

Question for robotics experts, as I have no knowledge of this stuff: That thing comes at me, what protects its obviously exposed joints when I throw a pail of masonry sand at it?

5 Likes

Nothing, it weighs 70 pounds, and in the vernacular of folks in NYC, it don’t fly or swim. Make your own conclusions.

11 Likes

The cop who already shot you seven times (and a few bystanders too) by the time he remembered the dog is also a camera?

14 Likes

I’m no robotics expert, but I am just going to leave this here:

18 Likes

No, that’s not a problem. I’m a middle-aged white guy.

1 Like

Unless you also happen to rich, eventually that won’t be enough to protect you, either.

16 Likes

If it’s money well spent is one thing, but the idea of sending in an unarmed robodog instead of an armed cop in a potentially dangerous situation has its advantages. If all it has is a camera, microphone and loudspeaker, the cops have no choice but to try to talk to the suspect. It’s way better than sending in a SWAT-team into a building where they fear there might be an armed person.

5 Likes

“Some critics also pointed out it was reminiscent of robot dogs in the dystopian Netflix series Black Mirror.”