Printers are the most popular object of destruction in America's Rage Rooms. There's a problem with that.

Originally published at: Printers are the most popular object of destruction in America's Rage Rooms. There's a problem with that. | Boing Boing

4 Likes

I disagree that the reason people want to smash printers is “toxic chemicals.” I’m an IT Admin, and I guarantee you that people want to smash printers because they SEEM simple - just File> Print from a computer - but it is NEVER that simple! Even if you actually get a print, sometimes it just doesn’t look like you expect. I was there at the beginning of What You See Is What You Get (wysiwyg) on Macintosh with the first ImageWriters circa 1985, and you’d think all of this has gotten stupid easy, but it hasn’t. Don’t even get me started on Fiery print servers: possibly the least straightforward software/systems people have to interact with.

10 Likes

Other than removing the drum and toner, what’s more environmentally dangerous about a smashed printer than an unsmashed printer? Presuming that the smash house takes the remains to the same place that all environmentally conscious consumers take their dead printers, that is.

12 Likes

“Toxic chemicals” are not why people want to smash up printers. They are why smashing up printers is dangerous.

20 Likes

Obligatory, even if it was mentioned in the article.

20 Likes

Oh, duh. I read “Why do Americans loathe printers so much they’re paying actual money to hit them with sledgehammers? So many reasons, say smashers.” followed immediately by “The problem is simple enough: printers are full of nasty, toxic chemicals.” as the reason why people preferred smashing the printers.