Reddit mob threatens 16 year old girl coder with rape threats and abuse

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/02/12/reddit-mob-threatens-16-year-o.html

2 Likes

I hope people buy the **** out of that app.

ETA: Just purchased it myself. It is apparently doing quite well in sales. Hurray!

20 Likes

As a Redditor. . . .sigh. Apologies aren’t going to fix this, she deserves credit and recognition for her programming achievement. I kind of wish Reddit could force her accusers to buy the darn app for $20 a pop instead of $2. I wonder if they received any sort of recrimination?

23 Likes

there really is no… reddress

6 Likes

I was 13 when I started coding. Never mind the cavemen, Harshita Arora, and carry on!

20 Likes

Wow, just that first negative comment is so full of hidden male frustration and hatred on that guy’s part. What has this little prick ever achieved to be accepted into an MIT course? Nothing. He’s probably an unemployed 45 y/o who sits in his mother’s basement and can only dream of doing something like this. He probably couldn’t code his way to his postal address.

11 Likes

Another fedora wearing neckbearded dipshits acting like dipshits story.

If those idiots feel intimidated, maybe they should step up their own game instead of blaming others for their own personal shortcomings. They’re hurting themselves alot more than they can ever remotely do to her

10 Likes

This comment makes you sound like a much better person.

10 Likes

I can understand doubting a 16-year-old coding something like this…I thought only 13-15 year olds had that kind of time and focus.

10 Likes

That’s the bright side of the affair. She will at least be somewhat compensated in sympathy and publicity.

I have no desire to track crypto-currencies (in fact I wish they’d go away) but I would love an app that looks like that on my phone. Perhaps she can work on a weather app next. Or something to track my finances/budgeting.

12 Likes