Remember ebola? Media-inflamed health scares, quantified

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2017/05/09/remember-ebola-media-inflamed.html

1 Like

Remember Ebola? Health scare? Seriously? It was a two year outbreak that killed over 11,000 people, displaced hundreds of thousands. It destroyed families, lives, economies…

Bit of perspective, please, Andrea. Not all health “scares” are equal.

10 Likes

I’m usually pretty good at reading charts and infographics but I’m not even sure what I’m looking at here.

2 Likes

Ebola was very serious. The only reason it was contained to the above stats is that t g e world collectively freaked out. Who screened this?

I’ll add that I am an emergency room nurse and involved on global health studies and ebola scared the shit out of me. Easily spread, no vacinnes, no treatments, high mortality. Yikes.

7 Likes

Yeah. This reads a bit like “remember the time a bunch of Africans we don’t care about died?” I don’t think it was intentional but boy is it a bad look.

6 Likes

Remember that time when there was a health crisis and media attention spurred the world into action and the problem was contained? Well we all didn’t die so everybody is stupid and nobody understands statistics.

7 Likes

We had an Ebola death in my part of the country. It happened just a few miles from where I live. I shudder to think what might have happened if the media-inflamed scare didn’t take place and our emergency responders and clinicians hadn’t been made aware of the incoming problem.

5 Likes

this post is peak BoingBoing. Just add an Amazon referer link to something.

2 Likes

Why is there no scale? How many news mentions? How many deaths? Useless charts. At least useless for the reader, possibly useful for the creator/publisher.

3 Likes

I know! The lack of a scale drives me nuts.

2 Likes

Linear or log scale?