Review / Manifold Garden

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/10/25/review-manifold-garden.html

William Chyr’s abyss stares back. It’s a good puzzle game, too.

6 Likes

Sounds ideal for VR! :wink:

8 Likes

So, I guess I can look forward to adding this to my backlog when it is the subject of a free giveaway any time now.

2 Likes

I started playing this yesterday on iOS following @beschizza’s recommendation on Twitter.

Its flat shading, lack of narration, and puzzle style strongly reminded me of the amazing Antichamber from 2013.

(though Antichamber lacks the display of infinity that makes Manifold Garden so interesting)

2 Likes

Shut%20Up%20and%20Take%20My%20Money%2C%20Bottlecaps%20-%20Fry%20in%20Futurama

4 Likes

I would totally buy this game.

However, I will never pay for a subscription service for apps. So piss off, Apple Arcade.

4 Likes

Goddamn Rob, your writing is so evocative and recognisably yours, even in a ‘mere’ video game review. I’ll probably never play this but my world is now a little richer for knowing it exists.

6 Likes

I didn’t realize this game was just released.
Watch a playthrough, it’s amazing.

“I did secretely make a version that works in VR at some point and it looks great, but also incredibly nauseating :)”

– one of the game’s developers, in the comments on the rock, Paper, Shotgun review

I’ve been following this for a while; I’ll be waiting for the PS4 version because that’s got a much more pleasant setup for games than my computer.

2 Likes