Snowden: Dropbox is an NSA surveillance target, use Spideroak instead

[Permalink]

SO you mean they are knowingly lying here and we should bring a class action suit against them or is there some stupid legal loophole I don’t understand.

I’ve been using SpiderOak for a few years now. SpiderOak is structured as a cloud backup service with file syncing and sharing built upon that, and I use it both for file backups and for syncing. It has its strengths and weaknesses.

SpiderOak’s commitment to end-user privacy is very strong, and I’ve never heard its security features faulted. They’re in the small set of organizations that has been willing to go to court to protect the privacy of their end users. SpiderOak is available for all major platforms, and there are RPM and DEB repositories to keep it up-to-date in Linux. There’s a free plan where you get 5 GB of storage, which is typical for file syncing services; you can get additional storage, in increments of 100 GB, for about $100/year, which you’d want if you intend to use it for backing up your files. It keeps multiple versions of a file. The encryption is all done client-side.