"Songs in the Key of Z" is a delightful compilation of outsider music

Originally published at: "Songs in the Key of Z" is a delightful compilation of outsider music | Boing Boing

1 Like

i’ve been listening to jandek since 2000 and i wish i had learned of him earlier. having listened to most of his music multiple times i can attest to the strangely compelling power of what he does. it is my belief, having seen him live, that he is either deadly serious about what he does or he has put on the very best poker face for 44 years. either way i can totally respect it.

4 Likes

I’ve long loved these compilations too, good to revisit them!

They especially led me down a Daniel Johnston hole for awhile. And another of listening to the oh so sincere covers of the Langley Schools Music Project.

5 Likes

I had the good fortune to be on tour with Rudely Interrupted to the US, Canada and England with the highlight being the UN in New York. It was very ad hoc and very rock life - sex drugs etc.

The one thing that is gated for people with abilities other than our own is the sexiness and punk lifestyle of rock music. Sexuality and identity is a very slow burn for the parents of a downs syndrome person, if acknowledged at all.

2 Likes

I’ve met him, and I see no reason to imagine that he doesn’t take his music seriously, but also that he is aware of how is music sits in the wider world and how people not open to it might react,

Irwin Chusid was an early driver of the Exotica Music List that I was on for many years where I met lots of people and learnt so much about music from incredibly well listened, researched, and weird focused people.

3 Likes

i had a custom wind chime made using the guitar tuning from nancy sings plus the tonic and dominant from nancy’s song. the maker was worried when i came to get it because he was afraid i wouldn’t want it, afraid thatr no one would want it. i totally love it but i understand it’s not for everyone.

5 Likes