[SPOILER] returns to Doctor Who

Originally published at: [SPOILER] returns to Doctor Who | Boing Boing

2 Likes

Allons-y!

9 Likes

As a heretic who ranks Tennant at the bottom of the “Nu-Who” era Doctors (yes, even below Whittaker), I was not entirely thrilled about this. But given that Doctor Who is still my favourite tv show*, I do look forward to seeing what Davies has planned.

*although I often note that I can’t be a “fan” of the show because I actually like it.

2 Likes

Hmmm…
I like David Tennant as an actor, and I enjoyed his time as the Doctor. However:

1. He’s already been the Doctor, specifically the tenth Doctor. He’s had his tenure on the show, someone else should have a chance.
  2. So wait, Gallefreyans can regenerate into former incarnations? That seems… awfully new and made up to the established canon (although please, someone correct me if I’m wrong on this point, I’m not going to pretend I’m an expert in Who lore).
  3. I was really looking forward to Ncuti Gatwa’s interpretation and performance of the Doctor, and I really hope the racists didn’t force the BCC to make a “fan service” change in casting.
2 Likes

No doubt many are considerably frustrated with the departure from tradition in that he didn’t regenerate while keeping 13th’s wardrobe.

6 Likes

It was a fun sendoff for 13. The plot was a little all over the place, but thought it held together better than the recent Flux and Sea Devil outings. As a fan of the original series it was wonderful to see so many characters I loved as kid reprise their roles. Loved that 8 got some more screen time–he’s become a favorite for me due to his excellent audio adventures. Hands down the biggest shock for me was Ian’s return! Would have liked to see what Russell T Davies would have done with 13, but looking forward to the adventures of the 10/14thish Doctor next year.

3 Likes