Stanford professor explains how to deal with assholes

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2017/09/27/stanford-professor-explains-ho.html

7 Likes

I just read this a half hour ago. Epic piece!

2 Likes

I’m in academia, which means there are lots of assholes we can’t fire, but we can absolutely freeze them out. We don’t have to invite them to events or gatherings. We can shun them politely and smile at them as necessary, but other than that we just ignore them. That’s how we deal with assholes.

There are probably a bunch of Stanford employees wondering right now if he’s talking about them.

17 Likes

Assholes, in my experience, don’t wonder about that. They take it as given.

13 Likes

That’s why people smile politely at me and I never get invited to anywhere, they’re all assholes!

33 Likes

Not giving a shit takes the wind out of an asshole’s sails. When an asshole’s being nasty to you, ignore him.

I have a PHD in this, learned it in the military, perfected in private sector.

21 Likes

This is what I’ve been telling the world since Trump was elected.

7 Likes

It’s not quite as simple when the asshole becomes your boss. Kinda have to pay attention to them at that point. And then they fire you anyway.

…you know, on further consideration, I should have just ignored his sorry ass from day one. Life lesson learned.

10 Likes

Did you read the part of the article that covers that? It says surrender and leave for your own health ASAP.

3 Likes

One of the simplest — but admittedly hardest — things you can do is simply learn not to give a shit. Not giving a shit takes the wind out of an asshole’s sails. When an asshole’s being nasty to you, ignore him