Texas' abortion laws scare doctors out of even speaking about care

Originally published at: Texas' abortion laws scare doctors out of even speaking about care | Boing Boing

8 Likes

System working as intended I see.

23 Likes

I love where I live but if doing my job ethically means I might go to jail, it’s time to leave.

9 Likes

Sounds like TX needs a Doctor strike

11 Likes

I know it is easy for me to say this because I am not a doctor, but they really need to unite on this issue (or enough of them do) because 1) they can’t do their job under these laws, and 2) you can’t lock up half of your state’s doctors.

12 Likes

This is the part of the story that stands out for me:

When she returned to Dallas and continued her prenatal care, she found herself navigating silence around abortion. She wondered, if the ultrasound technician knew she’d traveled out of state for an abortion, could she get reported? “You don’t know where anybody stands, so it feels like we’re all kind of talking in code,” Miller says.

Emphasis mine. If people are afraid they’ll be turned in by someone in the doctor’s office they’re less likely to go to a doctor’s office. Ethically doctors should be doing what’s best for their patients because it’s the right thing to do but on a practical level, which shouldn’t be a consideration but might be the only thing that will get through to some, they’re also losing business.

10 Likes

Abandoning parts of the country will not work. We need to fight this fascism where ever it’s found, or they will take the whole country. None of us are safe until all of us are safe.

Also part of the plan… medical care is for the elite, not for all of us, in their minds. If you can’t pay for care, then you should not receive it.

10 Likes