Texas doctor says he gave woman abortion to defy state ban

Originally published at: Texas doctor says he gave woman abortion to defy state ban | Boing Boing

11 Likes

So, can he use the $10,000 bounty to offset his upcoming legal fees?

24 Likes

This man is a hero.

43 Likes

Is there any limit to the number of times he can get sued? As far as I understand, the entire population of Texas could line up one by one and sue him.

This doctor and the woman are definitely brave and heroic, but I do hope they have a well-thought-out legal strategy planned out.

18 Likes

22 Likes

I’m not a lawyer but once the first plaintiff sues him, I’d guess his lawyer would move to stay the rest of the lawsuits pending the result of the first one. If the result of the first suit is that the law is unconstitutional the rest of the lawsuits can’t succeed and if the result of the first suit is a judgment for the plaintiff then he can settle the rest (or declare bankruptcy and let the plaintiffs get in line for their penny.)

15 Likes

The statute provides, among its many atrocities, that a defendant can be found guilty just once for each abortion. The bounty is for one plaintiff for one abortion. Given that, I would expect his legal counsel (the Center for Reproductive Rights) to ask any court to pause the 2nd, 3rd, etc., lawsuit until the first has run its course.

The Center for Reproductive Rights has said they will provide legal counsel. That is good- this shit is what their lawyers do full time and they will be harder to bankrupt than a single doctor or practice. The CRR is like the ACLU but only for reproductive stuff. Btw, if any of you mutants would like to chip in, here is the link to donate https://secure3.convio.net/cfrr/site/Donation2?9666.donation=form1&df_id=9666&mfc_pref=T&s_src=21RRFR0421Nav&s_subsrc=datasync&autologin=true

27 Likes

I still don’t understand how anyone would have standing, but I am also very not a lawyer

5 Likes