Texas man sues women who told ex-wife how to get abortion pills

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2023/03/13/texas-man-sues-women-who-told-ex-wife-how-to-get-abortion-pills.html

14 Likes

The party of limited government and enabling truly shitty ex’s. Hope they get voted into oblivion.

33 Likes

This is a stirring film, highly recommended. But in today’s climate of surveillance and vigilante lawsuits, I wonder if such a network is possible, no matter how courageous the women involved.

21 Likes

I am not an expert, but wonder if WhatsApp and such would be a start for communications.

6 Likes

56 Likes

Unforeseen consequences galore.

I don’t know that there were many who didn’t know exactly how this would turn out. Texas republicans just did not care.

28 Likes

Presumably once the Texans have finished with the abortion pill company they will go after gin distillers and coat hanger manufacturers.

9 Likes

No matter the consequences, it sounds like that woman really dodged a bullet not having that guy’s baby.

15 Likes

the party of limited government, personal liberty, and tort reform.

i can’t think of a think of a single tenet they have stuck by in their race towards fascism. oh. other than white supremacy i mean

17 Likes

and so it begins/ continues.

4 Likes

We don’t know if it was “his” baby (my feeling is that it’s mostly her baby, given that she’s the one doing all the life-threatening and uncomfortable work to make it happen; if he were to step up and carry the baby to term, I might feel differently). The article doesn’t say anything about the timeline. Was she still with him when her friends helped her obtain an abortion? Was she pregnant before she left him and had the abortion afterwards? Or is he just reaching back to torment a woman that left him years before?

In the first two cases, he might have fathered the child (but then again he might not). In the third case, that’s less likely (but possible).